Charr Week – in a steel-plated nutshell

Charr Starting Area

The village of Smokestead will be the first place Charr players will have the pleasure of experiencing.  It will be the stage for setting up the mindset and attitude of the Charr, so look for those subtle details in the locals and their buildings.  What’s so important about this area?  It houses one of the main cattle industries for the Charr’s hungry legions.

After the first few play sessions in the Plains of Ashford, it became clear that the Village of Smokestead wasn’t meeting the goals we had set out for it. You might think that after we had put several months into the map, we’d have been resistant to making wholesale changes, but we thought it was more important to make the game right than to just get it done.

The Domain of the Charr

I half expect the Charr who survive warfare to die of lung cancer.

Writing the Charr


I was glad to see a decent change in the voices between the races.  They remind me of the voice actors for the dwarves in Dragon Age.

Artistic Beginnings

Q: Kekai, how did you approach the charr design for Guild Wars 2?

Kekai: My approach was simple: make the charr badass. And then make them even more badass.

Even though this pretty much sums up the charr now, they had to start somewhere.

The Legions


Great lore/story piece.  I had often wondered why the Charr never tore at each other to unify all legions under one.  Originally I had thought it was because it was too similar to what the Flame legion had done and they wanted to forge ahead for the sake of being progressive.  However, I came to find this:

Adelbern’s curse [the foefire] upon the lands of Ascalon swept through the humans. In a white-hot moment, it destroyed their physical forms and cursed their spirits to wander the land, forever fighting against the charr. Because the ghostly enemy was unrelenting and never completely defeated, the High Legions of the charr were forced to work together from the outset if they wished to survive. Although they detested the forced unity, the need to defend themselves and Ascalon taught the three legions how to work together without sacrificing their individuality.

Very interesting…

—–

Anyway, thanks to Blaq for kicking me into gear and rounding up the Charr week.  In all honesty I had read it and completely slipped on writing about it.  Until the next moist morsel of GW2 information!

– Thrangis
Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for this round up, I’m too lazy to do check it out otherwise. :P

    I really like the charr. They seem to be a cross between a Final Fantasy Ifrit and a cat, with a highly advanced civilisation and an ancient roman military structure. Bloodthirsty and violent yet fearless and disciplined. I fear they’re just too cool and will overshadow any other race (poor Norn). Do want. :P

    Reply
    • Yeah, I think the biggest reasoning behind this is they were they “main” antagonistic race for GW1. That being laid firmly creates a strong desire for Anet to take them to a whole new level.

      To some degree they remind me of Tauren from WoW. Which is why, at first read through, I thought they were being cannibalistic with the cattle industry. Then I wondered why some cows didn’t become charr. Then I remembered they were cats… It was an odd couple of minutes after reading that part of the lore. x_x

      Reply
      • Not to mention that WoW’s taurens are hippies and not on fire. Otherwise easy to confuse them. :P

        Oh and speaking of Tauren, I really didn’t like the way Blizzard designed the female Tauren. Sort of a mix between a cow and a human. Cow with boobs, eew. On the other hand, Arenanet really took their female design seriously and it feels like they hit the nail on the head. It seems to me that female players would happily opt to play a female Charr over a male, in contrast to most females disliking the tauren female design in WoW. But then again, I’m a guy, so what do I know. :P

      • I had a female Tauren druid, purely for the size difference in animal forms, but I completely agree with the bizarre mammary placement. I would have been more comfortable with an utter. lol…

Leave a Reply

