City Sieges

I got myself involved in a couple city sieges.  It was only the defensive PoV, and only Altdorf at that.  I wasn’t all too thrilled with my experience. I got into several pugs and we got rolled again and again at each objective, until we were obliterated at the end.  However, Order as a whole manages to defend the city and send Destruction back to Praag.

It’s really frustrating to feel like you’re doing nothing but losing, and yet your realm still manages to defend the city.  It feels like I’m missing out on so much victory and just plain being good.All that tells me is the other groups in the other instances of the defense are either premades, which I probably won’t get into since I’m not R40 yet (34…almost there >.>), or I just keep getting in with some very unorganized individuals. The only consolation I have is in that fact that we still hold the city in the end.  I guarantee that it is more frustrating to be winning your City Siege and yet not take over the city.

Anyway, great job to all the groups that are keeping Altdorf standing tall and strong.  Next time take me along with you, I want to experience the success that I’m currently only seeing the result of.

– Thrangis “The Red” Hammersmith

p.s. – another grudgery update coming tomorrow ;)

p.p.s. – Take a look at Gaarawarr’s strategy to tackling City Sieges!

p.p.p.s. (next time I’ll be more prepared I swear!) – Read the comments to see me being informed on how things work so I look less like a simpleton in the future.  :)

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Glyrdel

     /  May 24, 2010

    I don’t mean to be annoying or something, but the way the new city sieges work, it’s every instance for itself really.
    So if you lost your instance, well then that’s that, other instances may win or lose, but it doesn’t effect each other. More like scenario’s, in that it’s isolated from the rest of the game.

    Reply
    • silofive

       /  May 25, 2010

      Not entire sure what’s annoying about your comment. But yes, I understand that each instance is its own scenario. I was under the impression that it was the outcome of all the separate scenarios that determined who took over the city for the duration. But, I guess I was misinformed and there is no more “capturing” of the city for any duration. Under this new information I’ve been getting I’m quite happy that it resets as it does. I just hope to be involved in much more organized groups during the City Sieges. :)

      – Thrangis “The Red”

      Reply
  2. You may think it would be great to actually take over the other factions city. It was close to that when the game was first released. A city rank meant something, but in the end it drove more people to quit the game than motivate them.

    Back in the day if your city was rank 1 you were left with nothing to do. All your city dungeons were locked out. So while the other side was farming gear for 18 hours. Yes city sieges used to last 18 hours you couldn’t do Ovr, or pve. You had no way to gear up, and try to switch the tide.

    It was the most demoralizing thing ever. No more guild scrolls, and etc. No scenarios for 18 hours.

    Reply
    • silofive

       /  May 25, 2010

      Thank you for keeping me informed Wasdstomp. I was still disillusioned into thinking that the cities were still “capturable” and that Order just happened to defend Altdorf every time. I see a great benefit to the City Sieges being re-worked to function they way they do now!

      – Thrangis “The Red”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

